Current Scholars

Chapter History

Construction of a new Evans Scholarship House at The Ohio State University began in September 2007 and was completed in winter 2008. The new house was built at 121 E. 16th Avenue, approximately two blocks from the previous Ohio State Evans Scholarship House on 14th Avenue.

General co-chairmen Ray Fahrmeier and John Kretzschmar led the Ohio State building campaign. Fahrmeier is a WGA vice president and Ohio State Evans Scholars Alumnus from Cincinnati. Kretzschmar is a WGA past president and trustee from Bowling Green.

The new Ohio State Evans Scholarship House provides our Evans Scholars with a modern, state-of-the-art facility that enables them to maximize their educational opportunities at OSU. The house is named the Earl L. Hamilton House, in memory of Earl "Bones" Hamilton, long-time WGA Director and trustee in Ohio and a major driving force of the Ohio Evans Scholars Program.